Seeking entries for companion animal rescue awards

rescue animals
Cathy Beer and rescue cat, Sam. Credit: Companion Animal Rescue Awards

After a successful launch in 2018 attracting 517 entries, the Companion Animal Rescue Awards is back again this year to inspire rescue groups and animal shelters to continue their efforts in saving companion animals.

At the launch earlier this month of the 2019 Jetpets Companion Animal Rescue Awards program—which took place at the Cat Protection Society of NSW shelter in Sydney—new judges, categories and supporters were revealed. 

“Every year, 186,000 pets remain unclaimed in Australia’s pounds and shelters, and thousands of volunteers support over 900 rescue and animal shelters across Australia,” said Cathy Beer, Rescue Awards founder and rescue advocate from Pets4Life.

The Jetpets Companion Animal Rescue Awards is a for-purpose program whose mission is to celebrate and recognise achievements in the rescue, rehabilitation and rehoming of companion animals in Australia. The Rescue Awards is the platform to showcase excellence and innovation in rescue. 

“In 2019, we’re building on the success of last year,” Beer said. “The judges are looking forward to receiving more outstanding submissions from the rehoming industry and I’ll have the tissues handy when I read the entries for the ‘Advocate®People’s Rescue Story. 

“The Rescue Awards has not only unveiled the extraordinary work of an amazing rescue community, but also inspired the industry to improve processes, collaboration and innovation to help companion animals get a second chance in a loving home.” 

This year, Jetpets is again the Platinum Rescue Hero and naming Partner. 

“We are excited to come on board again as the Platinum Partner for the Jetpets Companion Animal Rescue Awards,” Jetpets managing director Sandy Matheson said.

“Our motivation was simple; we want to support the amazing work being done by so many individuals and rescue groups across the country. I’m looking forward to congratulating the winners at this year’s ceremony.” 

Enter online from 1 May to close midnight on 30 June. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here